- What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball first?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
- Why is the eight ball black?
- What happens if you hit the black ball in pool?
- Can you hit the black ball in 8 ball pool?
- Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
- What happens if you sink the cue ball?
- Can I hit my opponents ball first in Pool?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
- How many shots are you allowed on the black ball in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching.
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black.
This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game..
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. On an open table, all pocketed balls remain pocketed.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
The player loses their turn and the opposing player is awarded an extra shot. If a player shoots and the white cue ball FIRST comes into contact with the black ball, a foul is committed, unless the black ball is the shooter’s last remaining ball on the table.
Why is the eight ball black?
The phrase behind the eight ball refers to a position in a game of pool in which a player cannot make a direct shot at the target ball because the black eight ball obstructs the cue ball—as explained by Harold Hadley in Behind The Eight Ball, a short story published in the Daily News (New York City, N.Y.)
What happens if you hit the black ball in pool?
LOSS OF GAME a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game. c) A player pocketing the black ball and any other ball on the same shot will lose the game.
Can you hit the black ball in 8 ball pool?
You can only hit the 8-ball as part of a combination shot at this point during the game. If you make a direct strike on the 8-ball, you lose your turn and any pocketed balls remain pocketed. Your opponent can continue play on the open table at this point.
Can you shoot backwards after a foul in pool?
play, there is no concept of forward or backward, but when a ball is fouled, your opponent would be able to place the cue ball on the table anywhere they want and take a shot.
What happens if you sink the cue ball?
Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.
Can I hit my opponents ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?
8-ball rules require that once a group is assigned to a player — by legally pocketing a ball after the break (in most rule sets) — then hitting any other ball first except your assigned group is a foul.
How many shots are you allowed on the black ball in pool?
one shotNormally it’s one shot on the black, sometimes you need to nominate the pocket. If the table has a D then a pocketed white needs to go back in the D. If there is only a line then the white can go anywhere behind but must be played down the table.
Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
Rule 1 – After the cue ball has made contact with the object ball a ball must touch a cushion after contact or the legal object ball must be potted. If the legal object is potted you do not need to hit a cushion after contact with the object ball.